California Cell Phone Laws

While cellphones have caused a lot of trouble for Americans as of late, there are still some states that take a more relaxed approach when it comes to prosecuting these behaviors. In the state of California, texting has been completely banned. A first offense will result in a $20 charge while the second and every ensuing crime will force you to pay a total of $50. However, the state is not so harsh on overall cellphone usage. Whereas some states have completely banned all use while driving, California lets their drivers use hands-free equipment while in the car. Not doing so, however, will result in the same fines that are used for texting.