Obtaining Your California Temporary Permit

Once you have completed your drivers education course, you will be ready to apply for your California learner's permit.

To obtain a California learner's permit, you must be at least 15 years old and have completed a drivers education program, which can be done online or by mail.

Online

The California DMV provides an online driver education course. This course can be studied at the applicant's own pace. Once the prospective driver passes the test online, a certificate of completion will be sent to his or her home address.

By Mail

Applicants can also receive the study information by mail. An applicant can also take the drivers education test under parental supervision. It can then be mailed to the California DMV where it will be marked. The DMV Certificate of Completion will be mailed the same day, and the applicant will be one step closer to getting a California learner's permit.

California Learner's Permit Test

Once you have your DMV Certificate of Completion, you can make an appointment with your local DMV office to take the learner's permit test.

Applicants will need to complete a driver's permit application form (DL 44). Parents are required to sign this form once they have tested their knowledge of traffic laws and taken a vision test.  

Required Documents

There are a number of identification documents that will need to be supplied before you are given your California driver learner's permit. For a complete checklist of the required documentation click here.  A California learners permit applicant may be request to show one or more original copies of:  

Fees

The fee for a California drivers learners permit is $28. 

Find out more about drivers education in California here.